Fashion Fact: Who invented the Wedges?

Ferragamo's famous rainbow wedge designed for Judy Garland

My current summer read is Candace Bushnell‘s Summer and the City, a prequel to her successful Sex and the City book.  One thing I love about the book is how Candace throws in interesting fashion facts.   For instance, less than 50 pages into it, Carrie mentions to Samantha that the first wedge shoe was invented by Salvatore Ferragamo.  The curious girl in me read over the sentence (just to make sure I read it correct), put down the book and immediately began googling “who invented the wedge?”  It’s true, Ferragamo invented the wedge in 1936 and later patented it in 1937.  From there I found my afternoon learning more about the history of the shoe, interesting shoe facts, Ferragamo himself and the empire he built.

Salvatore Ferragamo

For instance, did you know that in Florence there is a Ferragamo Museum?  I didn’t, but I can bet you the next time I’m in Firenze (as the Italians say it), I’ll be sure to make a stop there!

Also, I found a designer shoe trivia.  If you’ve got a minute- click this to test out your shoe knowledge.  Kuddos to me, I got almost all of them right 🙂 Yay!

Sincerely, Kymberly

Ferragamo 2010 Ad: notice how the ad highlights the wedges by having them on Claudia's feet and Ferragamo's signature bow flats nearby.

Leave a comment