Nursery Design: style meets function

pottery barn nursery grey, white, woodI’ll let you in on a little secret, I am WAAAAYYYY more excited about my second baby’s nursery than I was for Harrison’s.  Much has to do with trial and error. Looking back EVERYTHING about motherhood was so new and my brain was constantly being overloaded with information, products, and advice of what to do and what to buy, that I made some mistakes in my purchases.  This time around I’ve applied what I’ve learned and will be making baby #2’s nursery functional without sacrificing style.

I’m a big fan of the Pottery Barn aesthetic of a classic and clean design, that it’s played a large factor in inspiration for our baby’s room.  I’ve mentioned before that his nursery will remain along the same color scheme as the rest of our home: grey, white, wood, and blue.  I find these colors to be calming for me.  When I know I’ll be spending hours on end in our baby’s room, I want to find some serenity when I’m in the thick of caring for a newborn.

I’ve paired all of these essentials with items from Pottery Barn to make your one-stop shopping needs easy.  But I do love me a bargain, so for a few of the items, I’m sharing alternatives that are light on your wallet.  Big YAY for savings!

Also keep in mind that this design board is of a neutral color palate, but the functionality remains the same for any color scheme you choose!  Here’s a round-up of the bare essentials you’ll need in a nursery:

Safe Crib

Dresser and Changing table combination

Rugs: one and two  (alternatively IKEA’s faux sheepskin rug is a steal at $12.99)

Design tip- by taking an oversized rug and layering it with a smaller rug on top you create dimension and warmth.  Layering rugs is especially key when you are dealing with a neutral palate in order to prevent a plain and texture-less space.  Added bonus- you’ll have plenty of cushion when doing tummy time and during those crawling months.

Nursing nook to include somewhere comfy to sit, comfy blanket for you (and a swaddle for baby), plus a side table to rest your nursing knickknacks.

Design tip- if you decide to purchase a glider or rocker, opt for a white fabric because there’s almost a guaranteed chance your little one will end up spitting up on it.  Believe it or not, cleaning up breast milk on a light-colored chair is much easier and tends to not show remaining residue.

I’m opting to keep our guest bed in the nursery as the bedding is already inline with the nursery look and I find it comfortable nursing/soothing baby while I’m sprawled out on a bed.  But if I do decide to make the last-minute decision to get a glider, I’ve eyed this affordable option as my go-to choice.

Lighting is essential because you’ll be awake and then sleeping at all hours of day.  So consider having blackout shades to counter the day and a lamp for night (I’m obsessed with this particular lamp since there’s a quick on/off switch on the bottom.  Genius.)

Storage to hide and keep clutter at bay.  Wicker baskets for the changing table are great to keep an organized changing table and woven baskets for toys and books are sturdy enough to overcome daily abuse.

Sincerely, Kymberly

 

 

5 comments

  1. I love all your tips!
    I have recently been to Brazil and visited a friend of mine who just had her first baby… I couldn’t help but think of you and mention your blog to her. Sadly she doesn’t speak English, but she will probably take a look at the photos 😀

Leave a Reply

