5 tips for designing your Christmas card

Tiny Prints tri-fold christmas cardTiny Prints trifold holiday cardI’m excited to mention I just received our Christmas cards for this year!  This is the second year now where I’ve turned to Tiny Prints to design my cards.  When I opened up my box, I shrieked with excitement with how wonderful they turned out!  I think I even did a happy dance right then and there ;).  Although I’ve pictured in this post 2013’s Christmas card (I’m waiting to share 2014’s edition once I get around to mailing the cards out first), I continued the theme of picking a tri-fold template and once again upgrading to the pearlized paper.  But kudos to Tiny Prints because their  new letterpress, foil-stamped, and laser-cut designs are absolutely swoon worthy.  (Can you tell, I’m a paper-loving nerd?)

If you plan on working on your holiday cards this Thanksgiving week, take into account these 5 tips for designing your Christmas card.  Happy designing, friends! 🙂

5.  Whose on your list?  Start by writing down all the people who you will be mailing your Christmas card to.

As the years go by, you can streamline this process by having the names of your family/friends and their addresses already on file.   (Can I get a “that was easy” button press, please?)

On a personal note, I keep my holiday card list small to allow for me to splurge on the actual design of the card (see tip #4).  My reasoning is simple:  I use the help of social media to send out a virtual copy of my Christmas card via my blog, Instagram, and Facebook for everyone to enjoy.  Those that actually receive a copy tend to be family and close friends who don’t mind seeing our mug shots on their mantel all December long ;).  (Or in the case of my Mother, she keeps our card up all year long…thanks Mom!)

4.  Create a budget.  My husband would be proud to hear me listing this as a tip ;).  But it’s true.  That way when you’re searching the web and combing through the 100’s of designs, you’ll be able to narrow down what styles you can actually afford.  Keep in mind, some of your favorite paper companies have add-on options, so take those extra fees into account as well.  But on the same note, those same favorite paper companies almost always have a promotion going on to help reduce your cost.  So go ahead, apply that discount code, baby.

I’ve found that the best promotion codes allow for free shipping and a percentage off.  So if you can score one of those codes, you should complete your checkout ASAP.

3.  To have a photo shoot or not have a photo shoot?  If you decide to schedule a photo shoot with  your family photographer, do so in early fall (or earlier if possible)  to have adequate time to get your proofs back.

Or go the route of taking your camera out and snapping away some candid shots of your family.  Sometimes those can be the most memorable ones!

Is it just me, but I’m always a fan of the crying baby in Santa’s lap.  Classic.

2.  Consider your content.  I’m a big believer in customizing whenever possible.  Besides including a picture (or two) of your family, it’s always great to read a personal message from the sender.  This can be in the form of a lengthy letter,  highlights from the year, or a short one-liner that pertains to your family.

This year we enclosed our holiday card with a simple phrase of: “SEAS and GREETINGS.”  A play off of “season’s greetings;” it brings humor to my family’s love for coastal living.

1.  Don’t stress over your holiday cards.  Ideally Christmas cards should be sent out the first two weeks of December but if your schedule doesn’t permit, you can always send out New Years cards. Maybe you can make a tradition of sending New Years cards go forward.  Because after all, traditions are a great way to keep up a good habit :).

Sincerely, Kymberly

4 comments

Leave a Reply

