Making Room

making room // pregnancy announcementpregnancy annoucement // displaying family clothespregnancy announcement // onesieTurning our all-purpose guest room into a nursery has got me lit up with excitement!  The idea of defining a space for our second child has my mind racing.  One thing I do know is that when my nesting instincts kick up into high gear, I’ll be planning an all-white nursery to welcome Baby home to.

Making the decision to expand our family was an easy one.  In fact, it was one the Hubby and I decided on a few months after the birth of our first-born, Harrison.  We joked to each other that we wanted “Irish twins,” but in reality it wasn’t until an amazing (and our first family) trip to Hawaii that we truly felt ready.

Now, if you’re doing a little math here,  you’ll be able to determine our wait-for-another-baby didn’t come as quickly as expected.  I did my best to remain positive, not “think about it,” and just let things happen when they happen.  But when months, and even a year passes, it’s easy to re-evaluate the whole “glass half full” mentality.

My self-pity parties didn’t last long.  I’d continue to remind myself to believe in Faith, Hope, and Love.  Eventually He would give us a positive response.

With the added help from our fertility doctor,  we indeed got the response we had prayed 14 months for.  As much as I’m a bit weirded out by mentioning this,  I feel it’s important to recognize that even though I’m in my young 30’s, live a fairly stress-free lifestyle, and I’m part of an outstanding marriage; sometimes things seem beyond your control, and getting a helping hand from modern medicine can make your dreams come true.  Turning a dream into a reality isn’t something to be ashamed of and is why I’m sharing this particular paragraph.

I admit our road could have been more difficult to overcome.  Looking back, it was a minor bump compared to those who have infertility doctor bills thousands of dollars more than ours, or even those who have to go through the long process of adoption.  My heart goes out to those families.

With my first trimester past, the next question to face is finding out the gender.  This is where the all-white nursery comes into play.  We have chosen not to find out whether we are blessed with a boy or a girl.  What waiting-on-a-baby has taught us, is to be truly thankful for your fortunes.  To put focus on preparing on the necessities: stocking up on diapers, wet wipes, buying a double stroller, editing our 529 plan, and I say this last part in all seriousness,– finding the perfect diaper bag.

Being the planner than I am, I’ll be sure to pick up a couple of those adorable bows (just in case) to match the white, cream and grey newborn onesies I’ll have washed and ready for when baby arrives.  Who knows, I’ll probably also pick up one or two of those undeniably cute pink dresses (again, just in case) and new blue outfits Baby Gap has on constant rotation.

Or maybe there will be a day when I’ll look over at my Husband, tell him how nuts we are for waiting 6 months, and analyze the heck out of our latest ultrasound.

In either case, stay tuned :).

Sincerely, Kymberly 

 

14 comments

  1. Congratulations Kymberly, how sweet of you to share such an important moment of your life with us! I am very happy for you… everything comes in its right time! I love the idea of not knowing the gender, I always wanted to do this!! Wish you and your family lots of love and health 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

