Travel Plans

Mother’s Day is quickly approaching and by now I would have created the cutest collage to present my own Mother’s Day wish list.  Especially as a blogger, it’s sort of the status quo to do so, right?  However, unlike last year’s Mother’s Day, my heart’s not in the place to share what materialistic items I’m coveting.  As part of my 12-step shopaholic recovery program, I’m being fiscally responsible.  So I’ll be a good girl and (do my best) to save for the upcoming trips 2014-2015 has in store for my family.

While I slow down on the frivolous spending at the clearance aisles of Target, I’m planning 4 trips that I want to give you the sneak peek on:

(4) Moab, Utaharches national park_moab_utah

What will begin as a trip to celebrate the wedding of one of the cutest couples I know, will turn into a week-long hiking trip to explore the Arches National Park, Canyonlands, Dead Horse Point State Park and even a cruise down the Colorado River.  This trip will be the kick-start to this summer’s plans.  Finger’s crossed the wedding goes off without a hitch and our hiking trip with an almost 2-year-old goes smoothly!  I loosely define “smoothly” as getting through the day without a “127 hours” incident on our hands (no pun intended 😉 ).

(3)  Central Coast, CaliforniaPismo Beach_Central Coast_California

I’m a let you in on a little secret, I’m a Californian whose once flawed perception of California was divided between Southern California and Northern California.  The whole central coast was more of a drive-thru to get from Los Angeles to San Francisco.  Now that I’m a Santa Barbara resident, I have no excuse not to make trips along Highway 101 to visit the coastal towns of San Luis Obispo, Monterey, and Santa Cruz.

(2) Boston, MassachusettsBoston_Massachusetts

Come Fall, when the leaves will be turning and the weather will have dropped just enough to validate dressing in layers; we will be heading to the greater Boston area to fall wickedly in love with the New England lifestyle.  Should my son fall in the same foot steps as his daddy, I think a toddler-sized “future Harvard law” shirt will be on my shopping list ;).

(1)  Charleston, South Carolinacharleston_south carolina

Not to get your tongue twisted; but I’m a sucker for seersucker and seaside.  😉

A trip not yet on the books, I’m eager to explore the southern charm and history this coastal town has to offer.

So there you have it; a glimpse of what my future travel plans will be.  I’m jumping for joy at the idea of visiting these cities all for the first time :).  Whether you follow my blog or stumped upon it while surfing the ‘net, If you’ve been to any of these cities, I’d love to hear feedback.

Sincerely, Kymberly

 

7 comments

    1. I’m excited for these trips- should be a busy next 6 months :). I hear such beautiful things about the battery and the city itself that I’m secretly hoping to make it there shortly after the new year. Before we do- I’ll be tapping your shoulder’s for your recommendations!

  1. nice list, you guys will have so much fun in Boston in the fall! I’m also dying to go to Charleston (which I’m sure it will happen now that we’ll be doing the FL to NY drive frequently). Another extremely charming southern city that I have been to (and love) is Savannah, Georgia. cheers!

    1. Yes, you’ll be so much closer! We will both have to piggy back each other on what to-do, recommendations, etc :). Ohh, and yes- Georgia would be nice too! I know you lived in the northeast, so I’m sure you’ve been to Boston? I’ll be planning that trip soon so I’d love to reach out to you on just about everything Baw-ston ;).

Leave a Reply

