Afternoon Adventures at the Irvine Spectrum

carousel ride

Another reason why I love Southern California is the endless supply of things to do.  For instance, my family and I went to the Spectrum, in Irvine to run a few errands and go window shopping.  The trip turned into an afternoon full of shopping, snacking and enjoying the kid friendly attractions the Spectrum had to offer.

Nestled between Target and H&M is a unique water fountain that happens to be a highlight for many babies and toddlers.  Especially now that the weather remains in the low 80 degrees, I always see a baby or two splashing around the water fountain.  Today wasn’t anything different, and we took Harrison straight to the water fountain so he could play.

Irvine Spectrum Water Fountain

However, we did do something different, we went on the ferris wheel for the first time.  After years of living in Orange County, I hate to admit that this was my first time on the ferris wheel.  I had always hoped to ride the ferris wheel but I just didn’t get around to it until now.  After spending $10 ($5/person, babies free) I finally got to experience it!  However, my final thoughts on it- not the best ride to experience with a 10 month old.  In theory, I had envisioned us sitting down in our booth enjoying the scenery that Irvine had to offer.  However, once we got in our booth, things went downhill!  Children 2 years old and younger have to be strapped down in their chair.  I fully believe in that safety pro caution.   However, my crawling youngin’ didn’t enjoy being buckled in and cried the whole time as he tried to wiggle his way out and into Mommy or Daddy’s arms.  After 7 minutes or so of riding the ferris wheel, the hubby and I were glad to have it over.  (Plus, it didn’t help that the adults have a fear of heights that was quickly reminded of when we stopped at the top of the ferris wheel).

Irvine Spectrum Ferris Wheel

Afterwards we went over to the carousel.  At $3/person, this ride was a bit more affordable and much easier to do with a 10 month old.  Harrison picked out his horse and we were all smiles during the ride.

Irvine Spectrum Carousel

Here’s a video of Harrison enjoying his 1st carousel ride :).

Sincerely, Kymberly

4 comments

  1. Love this post! I’ve always wanted to ride the Ferris Wheel at the Spectrum, but for some reason I always thought it was functioning haha…I’ll have to take the kiddies asap:) xoxo

Leave a Reply

