SoCal welcomes The Land of Nod!

Nod1

I became aware of The Land of Nod when I was researching fun, hip bed linens during my pregnancy.  I was looking for something a bit more modern and fresh for my son.   What did I come up with?  None other than, The Land of Nod who “offer(s) design for kids and people that used to be kids.”  From that point on, I became a loyal customer of The Land of Nod.  My son’s nursery is decked out in Nod gear and I couldn’t be more pleased with it!

When it came to my attention that The Land of Nod was opening a store in Orange County, I was thrilled.  This past weekend was the store’s grand opening and my family ventured the short distance to South Coast Plaza to check it out.

My husband and I (two grown up adults in our 30’s) had a blast in the store!  My 9 month old son loved it too!  We were touching and feeling all the different products.  We were “oooohhing” and “aaawwwing” at all the toys and bedroom accessories.   We were even laughing and playing with just about every gadget we could get our hands on.  There were masks we tried on, a coloring book station we doodled at and even an area to read and play puzzles.  My son found himself a blue pick up truck that he became fascinated with and crawled around the store with the truck in hand.

Nod_Masks

Trying on masks

Nod_puzzles

Playing with the puzzles

Nod_HB

My son left his mark 😉

One thing that made me say, “OMG!” was the locking block pattern found on one of their gliders and a rug.  I absolutely became obsessed with it!  I believe this locking block pattern will be the next chevron print.  Also, I loved it even more because the pattern looks like the letter “H.”  Either piece would look fabulous in Harrison’s room :).

Nod_H

Another interesting feature was the crafty kraft paper letters ($3.95/each) that spelled out “PLAY.”  I particularly liked how the yellow dots are stickers you can find at almost any craft section of a store.  What a cool DIY that is both affordable and unique!

Nod_play_diy

Although it would have been nice to walk out of the store with all of our must-have items, we did save a few items to purchase later down the road.  Here are a few items on my wish list:

Nod_wishlist

Lottie Dots Decals in Gold: $24.95 for a set of 48.  I can think of about a 1001 DIY ideas for these decals!

California onesie: If only I had another baby to dress him/her in this…

A Teepee to Call Your Own: $149.  For the future Cowboys and Indians and other make-believe playing my son is going to get himself into.

Grand Canvas USA Map: A steal at $29, I kept contemplating how to incorporate this map into my son’s room.  Hmmm….

However, we did leave the Land of Nod with a couple of throw pillows and a couple of toys that I am loving!  The store even gave us a free canvas tote in honor of their grand opening!

Nod_pillows

ABC Throw Pillows $19/each

Nod_toys

Helicopter: $24.95, Pick Up Truck: $8.95, Nod canvas tote: free!

Next time you’re in the South Coast Plaza area, check out The Land of Nod.  You and your family will be in for a treat!

Sincerely, Kymberly

Leave a Reply

