Savage Beauty: an Alexander McQueen retrospective

Posing at The Met steps

June has been a been a busy month with little time to blog.   So, what have I been up to?  PLENTY!  But one thing I’ve been dying to share, is my trip to The Metropolitan Museum of Art (The Met) to see the special Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty exhibit.  The exhibition is a retrospective of Alexander McQueen’s career.  Starting from his postgraduate collection to his final runway presentation.  It was absolutely breathtaking!  I spent two hours walking a snails-pace through the several rooms not only because it’s ridiculously crowded, but because I was absorbing the colors, details and unique looks McQueen designed.  If you can make it to New York City, I highly suggest checking out the exhibit.  It has been extended a week (till August 7th, 2011).  Some friendly advice, I went during the week and even at 10am it was packed!  So come early on a day you’ve got a few extra hours.  Otherwise, you will be waiting in line just to enter!  If you can’t see the amazing clothes and accessories in person, I highly suggest watching the narrative film found on The Met’s website.  The Curator provides an in-depth perspective on the garments displayed.

“I want to be the purveyor of a certain silhouette  or a way of cutting, so that when I’m dead and gone people will know that the twenty-first century was started by Alexander McQueen.”

Sincerely, Kymberly

The entrance to Savage Beauty

Romantic Mind: McQueen's early works

Blazer-Dress

"I design from the side..."

Romantic Goth: Parachute Jacket

I'm loving the gold mermaid dress!

Cabinet of Curiosities

"Beauty can come from the strangest of places, even the most disgusting of places."

Philip Treacy for A. McQueen "The Girl who lived in the tree"

Chess piece collection: The Knight (horse)

Tartan collection- I LOVED the dress on the right

Look who wore my fav tartan dress? Sarah Jessica Parker!

Romantic Nationalism

Entrance of Romantic Nationalism room

Romantic Primitivism

Romantic Exoticism

Embroidery details!

Romantic Naturalism

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

