Bridesmaids, a bride’s entourage

Vera Wang for David's Bridal Bridesmaid dress

Sticking to the wedding theme this week, I read in WWD that Vera Wang is following up with her White by Vera Wang collection at David’s Bridal with a seven piece bridesmaid collection.  For those of you who have been following me regularly, I’ve already blogged twice on my love for Vera Wang’s new business adventure (It started with a dress… and Spotted: pretty in pink.)  So you can only imagine the joy I had in reading the article, not to mention one of the dresses has already been leaked and it’s breathtaking!  Absolutely stunning!  The dresses will be arriving in stores come June and will range from $158 to $200 (such a deal!) and will range in pastel colors including champagne (my personal fav), orchid, amethyst and charcoal.  If I had a friend getting married soon, I’d be sure to sway her in the direction of this dress or maybe I can just go to the store and play dress up? (now that’s a thought…)

Thinking about bridesmaid dresses makes me question my own experience as a bride and the nine months of planning.  I’ve said it time and time again that I loved the experience, but the truth is; I’d make some changes.  Would I change my bridesmaids?  The hard-to-hear truth is yes.

My bridesmaids looking stunning in their champagne dresses

I had five bridesmaids which composed of my two sisters and three best friends.  These best friends have been by my side, through thick and thin.  I’ve shared all my memories with them, gone on trips together, I love them dearly, etc, etc and there is no denying that they will remain my best friends for the years to come.  It’s just there are other ways to show your best friends that you care for them and want them to have a special role in your day.  Allow them to read a passage during the ceremony, give a speech during the reception, plan your bridal shower or bachelorette party.  That is an honor in itself- to trust that you value their thoughts and opinions in planning a significant event in your life.  If I could go back in time, I would do that.  The main reason I’d do the change is not because my best friends are not worthy of being part of my bridal entourage (clearly I’d have them partake in another role) but the focus of a wedding often gets lost in the planning.  It’s weird to say that, “the focus of a wedding often gets lost in the planning” because we forget that the wedding is about two people- the bride and groom committing their eternal love for one another.  Sure the bride deserves the gorgeous dress, opulence and a night to never forget, but what isn’t necessary is creating a party for your guests to enjoy more than yourselves.  I can’t believe I’m saying this since it was advise I was given early on in my planning stages.  But I’m here to affirm that it’s true.  100% true.

In this change, my two sisters would both be my maids of honors and the only bridesmaids.  They wouldn’t take away from the wedding’s meaning but instead, keep it on course.  They’d help in keeping the wedding intimate and personal.  That’s a bridesmaid’s role.  When I think things through, my sisters have and will always be there for me.  We have our fights (and they can be brutal) but then we love each other (more often than not).  We tell each other the truths, we lift each other spirits, we are each other’s biggest fans, we talk constantly, we plan trips together and we say “I love you” to each other.  Sure we are different people in different stages in our lives but we don’t fault the other for it.  We are sisters and best friends; and it’s a lasting relationship worth keeping dear to me.

Sincerely, Kymberly

My Maid of honors in their gorgeous Priscilla of Boston dresses

Leave a Reply

