Happy Earth Day! Now what?

Save Our Earth

Oh Beautiful for smoggy skies, insecticided grain,
For strip-mined mountain’s majesty above the asphalt plain.
America, America, man sheds his waste on thee,
And hides the pines with billboard signs, from sea to oily sea.

-George Carlin

Yes, Happy Earth Day indeed!  Now what?  For starters you could get your free cup of coffee/tea at Starbucks if you bring in a reusable cup (did that at 7:30 this morning).  But then what else can we do?  Since the point of Earth Day is to  inspire awareness of one’s actions towards Earth’s natural environment, you can do a lot, it’s a broad definition.  Little things like, bring your own bags to the store, plan out your day’s trips so you’re not wasting gas, “let it mellow if it’s yellow and flush it down if it’s brown” (need I saw more on this?),  pick up litter/DON’T litter (have you seen the waste that goes into our oceans?), buy green products, buy eco-friendly clothes (Alternative Apparel has a great line of super soft tops and in fact, I’m wearing one of their tanks as I write this!), you can donate/volunteer to a cause (save the rainforest/save the dolphins/etc) or spread the world via social media’s (done…check!)  The point is to make an effort today, tomorrow and for the rest of your life with the mindset that our actions leave a blueprint on Earth and it’s inhabitants (humans and animals).  I for one know that I don’t always act with Mother Nature’s best interest, but then again; the purpose of this cause isn’t to change radically into a tree hugging hippie.  Just do something.  And I do- I do the above mentioned things regularly.  I do it because it makes me feel good.  For me, it’s the little things I do consistently that gives me the impression that I am making a difference (however significant or not it is).  So there’s my input on Earth Day (everyday), I just hope it’s enough to have me on Mother Nature’s good side!

Have a wonderful Earth Day everyone!

Sincerely, Kymberly

Save the Arctic

Save our right to clean air

Just a glimpse at what our waste does to the ocean & its inhabitants

Reduce your carbon footprint

Leave a Reply

