Spotted: Pretty in pink

 

Gwen Stefani's John Galliano wedding gown

There is a slowly growing trend in Hollywood to wed in a pink wedding dress.  As far as pop culture goes, Gwen Stefani pioneered this in 2002 when she wore a John Galliano (for Dior) gown.  The gorgeous A-line dress was an ombre effect, white for most of the dress and then flowed into a pink shade from below the knees to its cathedral length.  Given her rock and rock status symbol, this dress was totally Gwen!

Portia de Rossi's Zac Posen wedding gown

 

Then in 2008 Portia de Rossi wed Ellen DeGeneres in a pink ball gown by Zac Posen.  This was (and still is) my favorite celebrity wedding dress– hands down.  The top was vest-inspired with a plunging neckline and barely their back followed by a light-pink tulle skirt.  This dress exemplified masculine meets feminine (one of my favorite ways to dress).  I loved it for the unique, creative aspect of it. It showed the public (and gays) that the bride and bride doesn’t have to go the typical route of two wedding dresses or one dress and the other a tux, instead mix it up and mesh the two sexes.  Bravo!

Reese Witherspoon's Monique Lhullier wedding gown

 

Then last week, Reese Witherspoon walked down the aisle in an all over, soft-pink Monique Lhuillier gown.  The romantic styled dress included a Chantilly laced corset with an A-line skirt.  I loved this gown on her because as her second trip down the aisle, she was unique in wearing a pink hued dress rather than the suggested ivory most second time brides wear.

I say this is a slowing growing trend because not many public figures have been seen wearing pink gowns to their wedding.  This is something I love about this trend (if you can call it that).  I’m not one to be too trendy.  I live for being avant-garde.  So it came to no surprise that when I typed into Google, “pink wedding dress,” all I got was ugly “quinceanera” gowns.  I did however, find Vera Wang embracing the colored wedding dress trend in several of her collections (another reason why I love her.)  In fact, when I wrote my earlier post It Started With a Dress… it was then when I first saw she had incorporated a blush strapless organza, fit and flare gown into her David’s Bridal collection that is truly unforgettable (and only a mere $1200!)

Vera Wang for David's bridal blush-tone gown

 

 

So when planning you’re wedding be true to yourself.  If you want to be wild follow Gwen’s path and do it big!  Or on the other spectrum, follow Reese or Portia and go subtle.  If that’s too much, think outside of the box (or dress in this case) and add pink elsewhere- shoes (sort of overplayed), jewelry (I love colorful chandelier earrings-stunning!), underwear (subtle, but cute!), or accessory (how fashion forward- a pink veil or even a pink hair adornment!)  If it was me, I would rock a pink wrap-around diamond band set in either platinum or rose gold.  Why?  Because it’s a ring trend I have barely seen and I just love the idea of being able  to look at my finger and have the reminder of my greatest girly moment- a bride.  After all, doesn’t every girl want that?

Example of a pink wedding band

 

Sincerely, Kymberly

 

2 comments

  1. There are birds download wasteland 2 who have got many innovative features.

    Java is well worth to obtain for free. To get scores, you have to worry
    a lot audience as probable, a GPRS active phone will be
    there to destroy the crates and bricks that protect the hungry monster.

Leave a Reply

