1st wedding anniversary

 

Why do I drink champagne for breakfast? Doesn't everyone?

 

Last week my husband and I took a trip to Napa, California to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Before then, neither of us had been to Napa and for several years (since my 21st birthday in fact) I had been meaning to make my way to Northern California’s wine country.  So it was set, what better way to celebrate a milestone with your husband then to go to Napa!  My role was to plan the trip and he footed the bill.  Great teamwork huh? We had only two days to enjoy Napa, so prior to our arrival, I researched which wineries we should visit.  I knew I didn’t want to plan too much since the purpose of this trip was not only to get a lil tipsy, but to spend quality time with each other.

 

V. Sattui Winery

It was noon when we arrived and we headed straight to V. Sattui Winery.  For just $5 each we received five tastings and we were able to try a wide array of whites, reds and even a chocolate flavored Port.  Being my first meal of the day, I quickly got buzzed!  Now, that’s how you start a trip to Napa!  After our tasting we grabbed a cold Riesling and we headed over to their adjacent marketplace to pick up a couple of panini’s and side dishes to compliment our  wine.  $60 later, we were ready to sit down, eat and drink the afternoon away.

 

Our next stop was Mumm Napa.  This was the perfect choice because I’m a huge fan of champagne (FYI-Veuve Clicquot is my personal favorite.)  I figured since we are here to celebrate, why not indulge in some sparkling wine?  Mumm is located in another picturesque location and we were able to drink our glasses of sparkling wine while overlooking the grape vines *sigh*.  Unfortunately, they do not have a liquor license so we were limited to two glasses each.  But don’t you worry, we were determined to make those two glasses count!  I chose the Cuvee and Rose- both were very delicious and I highly suggest getting either one the next time you’re at your local grocery store.

Mumm Napa

 

After a day in the sun we headed to Vino Bello, our hotel for the evening.  We stayed in the one bedroom condo which was amazing!  If we had more free time we would have spent a week in the room.  Their condo’s are fully equipped with a full size kitchen, dining room, living room, king size bed, extra-large bathroom, washer/dryer and a large deck to die for!  The condo was the perfect way to end our night so with that said, I’ll stop there with the night’s details ;).

It really was the perfect getaway for us.  It was enjoyable to let the day pass us by without any worries or plans and just relish in “husband/wife time.”  It’s times like this when I get to sit back, blog and relive the memories we’ve shared, that I think how much I love my husband.  My best friend and soul mate, I couldn’t think of living a life without him by my side.  So cheers to us, and may we have many, many, many more years of bliss!  *Clink, clink!*

Sincerely, Kymberly

Leave a Reply

