It started with a dress…

Monique Lhuillier "Lyric"

I’m a newlywed!  (I just love saying that!)  Well, at least a newlywed for the next week, as my husband and I will be celebrating our year anniversary.  It’s a nostalgic time for me and I find myself looking back at how it all came along.  It started with a dress…literally.  After announcing our engagement, my sisters immediately booked flights to help me find my wedding dress.  Before their arrival I looked through dozens of dresses online and I liked a lot of dresses, but my heart fell in love with one in particular.  This dress just so happened to be a Monique Lhuillier gown.  I was obsessed with it because it was unique and a definite show stopper.  But like all good things, it came with a catch- a whopping $10,000 price tag!  Needless to say, that was several times over my budget.  I was sad…cried, kicked and screamed at my future husband for not letting me have “my dress.”  Well, let me re-

Vera Wang for David's Bridal

phrase that, he would have allowed me the dress but I’d have to give up the wedding location, venue and go minimal on everything else.  Ladies and Gents, I compromised.  Just like in all good relationships.  I gave up “the dress” for a dress I liked and look good in.  Once my sisters were in town we found several dresses.  It was actually hard to pick one because I look pretty in almost everyone (thank you gym!)  The dress I went with showed off my figure, was not overpowering (I wore the dress, not the other way around) and reasonably priced.  My sisters loved it and for a moment I almost forgot about the Monique Lhuillier gown.  Now don’t get me wrong, I did think about that dress again (several times in fact) during that nine months of planning, but looking back, not getting the gown was a smart decision.  I married my soul mate, celebrated our wedding with 100 of our closest friends and family, our pictures were perfection and I DID feel beautiful in my chosen gown.

All this talk about gowns, it drives me wild to think that I could have ever contemplated spending $10,000 on a dress.  That’s just insane!  It’s true what everyone says, you only wear it once and by the end of the night the dress was trashed.  Brides-to-be get caught up in the moment and forget that there is life after the “I do’s.”  I thank God that I didn’t throw too much of a fit and got my way.  I’m glad my husband reiterated that he would be marrying me- not a dress.

But what about those Brides who want a designer gown?  That’s where Vera Wang comes into play.  This past season Vera Wang introduced a line at David’s Bridal.  Her collection is $1500 and under.  A steal in the bridal world!  Had this option been available a year ago I would have proudly walked into David’s Bridal, tried on one of those gowns and worn it down the aisle.  So yes, it may have started with a dress, but it was our love and dedication for each other that made our wedding everlasting.

Sincerely, Kymberly

Leave a Reply

