Sleeping with Art

Sleeping with Art

Last April my best friend and I went on a weekend getaway to San Diego to celebrate her birthday.  We stayed at the fabulous US Grant.  I suggest you check the place out because it is gorgeous!  It is a historic hotel with just the perfect amount of modern touches. If I could condense the hotel into a home, that would be my dream home *sigh*.  One of the unique features I loved was the headboard in our room.  It was unique, not one of those mass-produced paintings you typically see in hotels.  The headboard was a giant canvas with an image of people on it.  I could tell it was one of a kind since the adjacent bed had a similar  image and after close inspection, I was right!  Right then and there, I immediately took a snapshot of it and mentally logged it in my brain as something to copy in my future home.  I thought, that seems easy, I could paint that.  After that weekend I sort of forgot about it (after all I”m not a home owner yet) until last night when I was watching the Real Housewives of Miami.  The episode showcased an artist dripping black paint onto a canvas in one continuous motion to create an image of several people.  I immediately did an O.M.G!  This was the same artist whose headboard painting I feel in love with.  I later googled the artist and found out his name is Yves Clement, a brilliant french artist know for this one-of-a-kind style.  This is exciting for me because I have a genuine love for the arts and it’s not often you see an avant-garde approach to painting.  So with that said, I’ve got to get my hands on one of those headboards!

Sincerely, Kymberly

Leave a Reply

